Fair Craft > Artisans

Artisans

The artisans who produce for us are part of the platform for traditional crafts and produce based on the philosophy and sustainability standard of FAIR CRAFT. All artisans practice a traditional craft that they have usually learned from their parents and grandparents. The production takes place in small workshops which are family run and where traditional methods are used. The very limited use of machines gives each product its own unique shape.

Caldarari

Emil jun., Emil sen. and Culita are our craftsmen who make brass and copper lids for our wine glasses. The lids are driven from sheet metal. Cutting, tapping, bending, heating, … the hundreds of blows with the hammer give the lids their unmistakable surface structure. Their last name Caldarari is also their job title. For […]

Emese Havadi

Ms. Havadi learned how to weave with the leaves of maize from her grandmother. As a child, she would often watch for hours and then gradually start doing it herself. Today she mainly weaves coasters and small baskets from corn leaves. It is important for this craft that the leaves are nice and long and […]

Alexandru Linguraru

Mr. Linguraru specializes in the production of the regionally typical “corfe”. His baskets are slightly smaller than those of Elena and the Subtirel family. He fetches the willows and hazelnut sticks for weaving on foot, as he does not have a horse-drawn cart. His grandchildren watch him closely at work because they also want to […]

Horatiu Oltean

Horatiu runs a small workshop in Medias with his father Laurean Oltean and employee Mr. Nicolae Muntean. He works continuously on the development of new products made of glass and is firmly convinced that the hundred-year-old tradition of glass production in his hometown Medias should continue to exist in the future, despite adverse conditions. Horatiu […]

Elena und Mitica

In the village of Fofeldea there are still several Romani families who have mastered the traditional handicraft of basket weaving. Fofeldea is located between Sibiu and Sighisoara, five kilometers off the main road. In the past, these baskets were used in agriculture and in the yard. The basket weavers made these baskets in the cold […]

Gusatu family

Iordan Gusatu, his wife Stanca Gusatu and their children from Babeni are the aritsans who work with wood in our project. With simple tools they create bowls, stools and plates out of pieces of wood. Their craftship is very impressive. First, the rough outer shape of the object is cut out of a piece of […]

Laurean Oltean

In Medias there is a tradition of glass production that goes back more than a century. A lot of gas is still being extracted in this region and suitable sand was found in the nearby Tarnava river. Gas and the right sand were the decisive factors for glass production and glass processing. By 1989, more […]

Santa Rebeka

Flechten mit Maisblättern Weaving with corn leaves In the villages between Sighisoara and Targu Mures, many people, mostly women, still master the craft of weaving with the leaves of corn on the cob. This craft particularly spread in 1940 in the village of Dumitreni. A flood destroyed most of the harvest that year and many […]

Stella and Nicolae Subtirel

In the village of Fofeldea there are still several Romani families who have mastered the traditional handicraft of basket weaving. Fofeldea is located between Sibiu and Sighisoara, five kilometers off the main road. In the past, these baskets were used in agriculture and in the yard. The basket weavers made these baskets in the cold […]

Handwerker

Die für uns produzierenden Handwerkerinnen und Handwerker sind Teil der Plattform für traditionelles Handwerk und Produktion und Zusammenarbeit orientieren sich an der Philosophie und dem Nachhaltigkeitsstandard von Fair Craft. Alle Handwerkerinnen und Handwerker üben ein traditionelles Handwerk aus, dass sie meist von ihren Eltern und Großeltern erlernt haben. Die kleinen Werkstätten in denen produziert wird sind Familienbetriebe und es wird mit traditionellen Methoden gearbeitet. Durch den sehr beschränkten Einsatz von Maschinen erhält jedes Produkt seine einzigartige Form.

Emese Havadi

Das Flechten mit den Blättern von Mais hat Frau Havadi von ihrer Großmutter gelernt. Als Kind hat sie oft stundenlang zugesehen und dann schrittweise selbst damit begonnen. Heute flechtet sie vor allem Untersetzer und kleine Körbe aus Maisblättern. Wichtig für dieses Handwerk ist, dass die Blätter schön lange sind und dass sie weich sind. Diese […]

Alexandru Linguraru

Herr Linguraru ist spezialisiert auf die Herstellung der regional typischen „Corfe“. Seine Körbe sind etwas kleiner als die von Elena und die der Familie Subtirel. Die Weiden und Haselnussstöcke zum Flechen holt er zu Fuß, da er keinen Pferdewagen hat. Seine Enkel sehen ihm genau bei der Arbeit zu und wollen auch dieses Handwerk erlernen. […]

Horatiu Oltean

Horatiu betreibt mit seinem Vater Laurean Oltean und dem Mitarbeiter Herrn Muntean eine kleine Werkstatt in Medias. Er arbeitet kontinuierlich an der Entwicklung neuer Produkte aus Glas und ist der fixen Überzeugung, dass die hundertjährige Tradition der Glasproduktion in seiner Heimatstadt Medias, trotz widriger Rahmenbedingungen, auch in Zukunft weiterleben sollte. Horatiu beschäftigt sich vor allem […]

Elena und Mitica

Im Dorf Fofeldea gibt es noch immer mehrere Romafamilien die das traditionelle Handwerk des Korbflechtens beherrschen. Fofeldea liegt zwischen Sibiu und Sighisoara, fünf Kilometer abseits der Hauptstraße. Früher wurden diese Körbe in der Landwirtschaft und im Hof benutzt. Die Korbflechterinnen und Korbflechter stellten in der kalten Jahreszeit diese Körbe her und verkauften sie dann in […]

Familie Gusatu

Iordan Gusatu seine Frau und deren Kinder aus Babeni sind in unserem Projekt die Handwerkerinnen und Handwerker die mit Holz arbeiten. Mit einfachen Werkzeugen arbeiten sie aus Holzstücken Schüsseln, Hocker und Teller heraus. Deren handwerkliche Fertigkeit ist sehr beeindruckend. Zuerst wird mit einer Spezialhacke die grobe äußere Form des Gegenstandes aus einem Stück Holz geschlagen. […]

Laurean Oltean

In Medias gibt es eine mehr als hundertjährige Tradition der Glasproduktion. In dieser Region wird nach wie vor sehr viel Gas gefördert und im nahen Fluss Tarnava fand man den geeigneten Sand. Gas und der geeignete Sand waren die entscheidenden Faktoren für die Glasherstellung und Glasverarbeitung. Bis 1989 arbeiteten in der 1923 gegründeten Fabrik Vitrometan […]

Santa Rebeka

Flechten mit Maisblättern In den Dörfern zwischen Sighisoara und Targu Mures beherrschen noch viele Menschen, meist Frauen das Handwerk des Flechtens mit den Blättern von Maiskolben. Dieses Handwerk breitete sich besonders im Jahr 1940 im Dorf Dumitreni aus. Ein Hochwasser zerstörte in diesem Jahr den Großteil der Ernte und nur durch den Verkauf von geflochtenen […]

Stella und Nicolaie Subtirel

Im Dorf Fofeldea gibt es noch immer mehrere Romafamilien die das traditionelle Handwerk des Korbflechtens beherrschen. Fofeldea liegt zwischen Sibiu und Sighisoara, fünf Kilometer abseits der Hauptstraße. Früher wurden diese Körbe in der Landwirtschaft und im Hof benutzt. Die Korbflechterinnen und Korbflechter stellten in der kalten Jahreszeit diese Körbe her und verkauften sie dann in […]